Social Media Club

I have just “joined” the Hamilton Social Media Club. This is a local chapter of an international group (http://socialmediaclub.org/). The local chapter is open to anyone in Hamilton interested in social media. The group have a Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/hamiltonSMC), a newsletter, and also hold regular events in Hamilton with guest speakers.

Their mission statement reads:

We bring together people and organizations interested in social media to learn from each other and promote media literacy.

Understanding media and digital literacy is important in my role as a subject librarian, and is something that I need to understand and should be teaching to students when possible.

I’d never heard of the Social Media Group; I knew the local group existed from seeing the events held at my workplace but was not aware that it was an open group until I saw a post on Yammer today advertising an upcoming event. I think this will be another great way for me to continue on learning as this subject finishes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Social Media Club

  1. Pingback: INF506 Assignment 3 | Mel's Ponderings

Leave a Reply

